LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens Trailers

LEGO Star Wars The Force Awakens Feature

With under a week to go, we figured here at Codec Moments that it was time to actually write something about the latest game to come from Warner Bros and Traveller’s Tales – LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  We’re big fans of the LEGO series, and even bigger fans of Star Wars, so it’s a no brainer that we’ve got our visual targeting calibrated for this game.  There’s been a steady build of character vignettes and other videos released over the last few weeks, we’ve drawn some of our favourites together here using the power of the Dark Side YouTube.

First up it’s Kylo Ren, and the sulky, emo, wannabe Lord of the Sith is the perfect character to pastiche in a LEGO Star Wars game.  It’s like he was written and cast precisely for this.

Whilst the focus of the game is the most recent film, LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens doesn’t dismiss the original trilogy, and makes use of arguably the best installment by bringing us The Empire Strikes Back character pack.  We’ve had fun with them in Battlefront, now it’s time to do some adventuring with the classic team.

The clear merchandising focus of the new trilogy is BB-8, and in fairness, might well be the most charming character after Han Solo.  It’ll be interesting to see what else this rolling Swiss Army knife can do.

Last up for the character focus is Finn, the stormtrooper with a conscience.  Basically we’re just happy to see John Boyega in LEGO form… if only there’d been a LEGO Attack the Block.

As well as experiencing the big screen story on our small screens, there are some new adventures to be had:

  • Rathtar Hunting – Follows Han Solo and Chewbacca’s voyage to capture the ravenous Rathtars
  • Lor San Tekka’s Return – Uncovers secrets behind Lor San Tekka’s journey to the Jakku Village
  • Poe to the Rescue – Details Poe Dameron’s daring rescue mission to save Admiral Ackbar
  • Crimson Corsair– Explores how the notorious Outer Rim pirate, the Crimson Corsair, foiled the plans of the First Order
  • Trouble Over Taul– Follows the events leading up C-3PO’s acquisition of his new red arm
  • Ottegan Assault– Reveals a puzzle piece to how the Resistance and the First Order find Lor San Tekka on Jakku

We’re also being spoiled with new features in the gameplay that include Blaster Battles where you can seek cover behind nearby objects and fight enemies with blaster fire; an enhanced Multi-Builds system allows players to choose from multiple building options to solve a puzzle and advance the game in different ways; and we can experience the thrill of high-speed, action-packed flight gameplay like never before, piloting iconic vehicles (including the legendary Millennium Falcon) through arena-based battles and dogfights in space.

LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is looking like it’ll be a lot of fun, and will release on just about every platform on 28th June 2016.

The following two tabs change content below.


Co-founder & Editor at Codec Moments

Gamer, F1 fanatic, amateur DJ (out of practice), MGS obsessed, tech geek.

Latest posts by Matt (see all)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *